0497 - 2731085, Fax : 91- 497 - 2731400

Department of English

Welcome to English Department :

The Department of English, established in 1960 at the inception of the institution offers Core Courses: B A in English Language and Literature, (Since 1960)
M. A. in English Language and Literature, (Since 2014) and Common Course in English (Since 1960).
The Faculty comprises Five Associate Professors, Three Assistant Professors, and Four Guest Lecturers. Four of the Faculty have Ph.D Degrees, Two have M.Phil Degrees, and Three have B.Ed Degrees. The Department Library has 2515 books and subscribes to four journals.
The Department has a Research Forum which conducts invited Lectures, Debates, Slide shows every week. FIDDLES, the Literary Club also conducts at least four literary programmes in a year. the Department, through the Jijesh Memorial Endowment, offers a cash prize to the Best Outgoing student every year.
Dr. N. Sajan, Smt. P.C. Sreeja, Smt. Lata Ramakrishnan and Dr. Lasitha B.V. were members of studies, U.G and P.G.
Dr. C.P. Satheesh is Chairman, P.G. Board of Studies in English.
Dr. Lasitha B.V. was member of Syndicate, Kannur University, during the period 2011-2015 and 2015-2016.
Dr. C.P. Satheesh has authored a textbook, English in the Internet Era prescribed as a Core Text for the B.A. Core Course III Semester students.
Dr. Lasitha B.V. has authored three Textbooks, Cadences, Green Voices and Resonances prescribed for the Common Course students of I, II and III Semesters.
Dr. C.P. Satheesh has been awarded the honour of Best NCC Officer twice by Kannur University. Dr. C.P. Satheesh has been awarded a Project Fellowship by Indian Council of Historical Research, New Delhi, (5 lakhs).
Four members of the Department are Teaching Faculty of the IGNOU.

SI No Course Offered
1 BA English
2 MA English
3 Common Course in English