0497 - 2731085, Fax : 91- 497 - 2731400

Department of Malayalam


The Department of Malayalam was established in 1960 as a part of the Department of Oriental Languages for engaging second language classes for Pre Degree and Degree courses but a department with B AMalayalam course Sanskrit as a Subsidiary subject was started in the year 1980-81 under the University of Calicut.Now admissions are done as per the rules of Kannur University.The sanctioned strength of the Teachers is 5and students is 40+ 10(Marginal Increase) Prof. P.V.Divakaran was the first Head of the Department of Oriental Languages and Prof. P.Viswanathan, renowned poet and critic appointed as the first HOD of Malayalam Department. Prof.K.Ayyappan,Prof.K.Dhruvakumaranand Sri.Karuvana retired Malayalam High School teacherwere also engaged the Malayalam classes. Later Prof.P.Gangadharan,Prof.Kochukrishnan, Prof.K.Kuttan were appointed or transferred to this department. Sri.RamachandranKadannappalliEx.M.P.andEx. Minister of Devaswam and Sri.K.P.Mohanan, CEO of Jai Hind TV and former Managing Editor of Asianet were students of Malayalam classes on those days.
Malayalam B.A.classes started in January 1981 for the academic year 1980-81.Dr.PalakasseriRamachandran the then principal formally inaugurated the course and the Chairman Regional Development Committee, Dr.T.P.Balakrishnan facilitated.
The Department of Malayalam, SreeNarayana College, Kannur is accredited by the people of Malabar as a centre of excellence in higher education in Malayalam Language and Literature. Behind this reputation there is a tradition of decades during which the department fostered literary taste and talent among its students and the general public through many a number of seminars, debates, conferences, speeches in which almost all the eminent writers ,critics, painters and performing artistes of the state participated. Poets like Jnanapeeth winner Sri.O.N.V.Kurup, Sri.KunhappaPattannur, Sri. KarunakaranPuthusseri, Sri. UmeshBabu K.C., Dr.Indrababu, Prof.PramodVellachal,Sri.MuruganKattakkada, Famous orators and critcs like Dr.SukumarAzheekod, Prof.M.N.vijayan, Dr.T.P.Sukumaran, Dr.K.P.Mohanan, Sri.N.Sasidharan, Sri.E.P.Rajagopalan, Dr.A.T.Mohanraj, Dr.S.S.Sreekumar, Dr.MaheshMangalatt,Sri.P.V.Valsaraj, Sri.A.V.Pavithran Short story writers and Novelists like SahityaAkademi award winner Sri.M.Mukundan, P.S.C.memberSri.AsokanCharuvil, Prof.N.Prabhakaran,Smt.V.V.Rukmini, Kannur University Students Service DirecotorSri.V.S.Anilkumar, Dr.ValasanVathussrei, Sri.T.P.Venugopalan, Adv.K.K.Ramesh, Sri. Anoop K.V, Sri.AsrafAdoor, Sri.M.N.Vinayakumar, Sri.T.K.D.Muzhappilangad, Journalists like Sri.K.Balakrishnan, Sri BalakrishnanKoyyal, Sri. A.V.Anil Kumar, Sri.DinakaranKombilath Folklorists like Prof.Muhammad Ahammed, (Folklore Academy Chairman), Dr.RaghavanPayyanad, Dr.A.K.Nambiar (Former secretary, Kerala Folk lore Academy),Dr.Govindaraja, Dr.Vasanthakumari, Prof.Bharathan,Folklore Artists like P.K.Kalan (Former Folklore Akademi Chairman And Gaddika Artiste), Sri.KanjanPoojari (Chimmanakkali), Prof.Kannan (Former Chairman, Kerala Folklore Akademi and Theyyam Artiste), Sri.Kannappereuvannan Painters like Sri.K.K.Marar and Photographers like O.Ajith Kumar, Sri. Raghavan, Sri. SelvanMeloor, Shihabudeen poythumkatavu, Pavithran theekkuni, Soman Kadaloor,Veerankutty, R.C Karippath, Dr.Nishi George, Dr.V Lissy Mathew, Dr.Kumaran Vayaleri, Dr. N Liji are among them.
In2009 a significant change in the curriculum was introduced in colleges by implementing the Choice based Credit Semester System (CCSS) for the undergraduate programmes. As per CCSS, duration of the undergraduate programme is six semesters, distributed in three academic years.
At present the sanctioned strength of students is 50. The total number of students of Malayalam BA degree programme is 150. Students are given an opportunity to study the regional history of Kerala. The department also ventures to keep the students informed about the international and national happenings through seminars and Quiz programmes. Inculcating a sense of patriotism and pride in our cultural heritage and motivating the students to ideal citizens of India are the primary goals of the department. In the past twelve years it has educated hundreds of graduates who have made their mark in society. At present the Department is an integral part of the University of Kannur.
The total number of students in the department in the academic year 20 20-21 is 146 The students are from varying economical and educational backgrounds. Majority of the students belong to lower class families. Many of our students come from BPL families.. The eligibility of admission to the UG Programme is +2 or equivalent. The allocation of seats is according to the Govt. regulation regarding reservation norms. The students represent a cross section of society in the region. Most of the students come from Malayalam medium school and their proficiency in English is not as good as in Malayalam. At present there are five permanent faculties in Malayalam Department. The department is headed by Dr.M P Shanoj. Sreelatha E, Bijali P, Sheeba P K, Sethulekshmi R are other faculties working in the department of Malayalam.